OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.
 
   FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

Graph layout using osgCompute


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> osgCompute [osgCompute]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sorel
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:39 pm    Post subject:
Graph layout using osgCompute
Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

I've got here some issue I would like to discuss with you first because I am kind of newbie in osg and also osgCompute. I would like to accelerate computation of graph layout with osgCompute, but I am not sure if possible or if it's osgCompute suitable for this task. My graph nodes are represented as geodes in scene graph and I need to recalculate their positions according to their neighbouring nodes. This part I have already implemented but I would like to tranfers this position computation on GPU.

I looked at this particle demo example which is in some way similar to my problem but the major difference is that in this particle demo there is just one geode with particles as vertices in geometry but in my case there one geode for every graph node. Do you think it can work?


Thank you!

Cheers,
Vladimir
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sorel
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:53 pm    Post subject:
Graph layout using osgCompute
Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

I've got here some issue I would like to discuss with you first because I am kind of newbie in osg and also osgCompute. I would like to accelerate computation of graph layout with osgCompute, but I am not sure if possible or if it's osgCompute suitable for this task. My graph nodes are represented as geodes in scene graph and I need to recalculate their positions according to their neighbouring nodes. This part I have already implemented but I would like to tranfers this position computation on GPU.

I looked at this particle demo example which is in some way similar to my problem but the major difference is that in this particle demo there is just one geode with particles as vertices in geometry but in my case there one geode for every graph node. Do you think it can work?


Thank you!

Cheers,
Vladimir

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=46014#46014







------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sorel
Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 8:22 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I am not sure, if I made myself clear so I will try to be more specific.

Is it possible to somehow send to kernel array of geometries, so every thread can work on one of them?


Thank you!

Cheers,
Vladimir
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jens.svt
User


Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:06 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi Sorel,

If I understand you right, you want to access an undefined number of linear arrays (OpenGL vertex buffers) during a single CUDA-kernel.
Each thread should work exclusively on one of these arrays.

I never tried this myself. Unfortunatelly I think the answer is no.
Here is what I found:
The only way you could call a kernel with a varying number of pointers,
would be to hand over an array of pointers:
Code:

void myKernel( float4** myArrays, uint numArrays )
{
    ...
}

However, then you will run into the problem that you cannot setup this array of pointers on the host side as reported here:
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=87337


Hopefully, I this answer will help you.

Best regards,
Jens
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> osgCompute [osgCompute] All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Similar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts Correct way to modify scene graph [SE... Thamm, Russell General 5 Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:52 am View latest post
No new posts using modern shaders with osg - setti... antiro42 General 18 Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:30 am View latest post
No new posts Using callbacks for all graph modific... arennuit General 4 Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:21 pm View latest post
No new posts How to handle cameras in the scene gr... wernerM General 7 Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:47 pm View latest post
No new posts How to render (sub-)graph only into d... hartwigw General 4 Fri Dec 16, 2016 11:20 pm View latest post


Board Security Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP