OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.
 
   FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

osgdem with terrain from worldMachine


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kalwalt
Newbie


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:22 pm    Post subject:
osgdem with terrain from worldMachine
Reply with quote

Hi,

i would create a tiled Terrain with osgdem . i have my heightMap and colourMap made with WorldMachine a terrain editor http://www.world-machine.com/ . With the heightmap i have no problem but with the colour map i got weird artifacts. This is my process:

i got the 8 bit .png colour map from WM.
gdal_tranlsate colourMapDistorted_gdal_tr_16bit_02.png colourMapDistorted_gdal_tr_16bit_02.tif
gdaladdo -r average colourMapDistorted_gdal_tr_16bit_02.tif 2 4 8 16 32

then osgdem:

osgdem -t data/colourMapDistorted_gdal_tr_16bit_02.tif -d data/icebergHeightMapDistorted02_gdal.tif -l 8 -v 1 -o iceberg.ive -a iceberg.osga

i tried with other picture format, WM may output .bmp(8bit) ,png(8bit) .tiff(8bit) ,png(16bit) .tiff(16bit). i tired with all format but with no luck. The only difference that i noticed is that when i average the .tif(16bit) i got an alpha image instead of a RGB image . Who can enlight in the right direction?




Thank you!

Cheers,
walter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertosfield
OSG Project Lead


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 12093

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:56 am    Post subject:
osgdem with terrain from worldMachine
Reply with quote

Hi Walter,

I don't know anything about WorldMarchine and you don't provide any of the problem images so I can't provide any specific answers.  The best I can suggest it to check that the images coming from WorldMarchine are handled by gdal, so first stop would be to visualize the original data that comes out of WorldMarchine and the data that comes out of gdal_translate and gdaladdo.  Only once you've established each of these steps works correct is it something the OSG/VPB will have an effect on.

Robert.

On 20 December 2012 21:22, walter perdan < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:
Hi,

i would create a tiled Terrain with osgdem . i have my heightMap and colourMap made with WorldMachine a terrain editor http://www.world-machine.com/ . With the heightmap i have no problem but with the colour map i got weird artifacts. This is my process:

i got the 8 bit .png colour map from WM.
 gdal_tranlsate colourMapDistorted_gdal_tr_16bit_02.png colourMapDistorted_gdal_tr_16bit_02.tif
gdaladdo -r average colourMapDistorted_gdal_tr_16bit_02.tif 2 4 8 16 32

then osgdem:

osgdem -t data/colourMapDistorted_gdal_tr_16bit_02.tif -d data/icebergHeightMapDistorted02_gdal.tif -l 8 -v 1 -o iceberg.ive -a iceberg.osga

i tried with other picture format, WM may output .bmp(8bit) ,png(8bit) .tiff(8bit) ,png(16bit) .tiff(16bit). i tired with all format but with no luck. The only difference that i noticed is that when i average the .tif(16bit) i got an alpha image instead of a RGB image . Who can enlight in the right direction?




Thank you!

Cheers,
walter

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=51664#51664





_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kalwalt
Newbie


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:52 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi Robert,

i will post soon some images and some info output from gdalinfo about the files.

...


Thank you!

Cheers,
walter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creature (Ethan Fahy)
Appreciator


Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 2:41 pm    Post subject:
I don't think World Machine georeferences its data files
Reply with quote

I've used World Machine before to create heightmaps for CryEngine and UDK but I thought that World Machine didn't georeference any of its files and was meant more for videogames and CGI. That being said you could always use gdal to add georeferencing to the World Machine output files and then use those in VPB. I'm not sure how VPB handles non-georeferenced files.

All this being said, it sounds like the problems you are having are more to do with textures so maybe I'm off base here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kalwalt
Newbie


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:08 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi,
i 'm sorry for the long delay but i miss this replay. i post some screenshot maybe to explain better the issue.
Yes it seems a texture issue but maybe also happens because it lacks of geo reference.
...


Thank you!

Cheers,
walter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kalwalt
Newbie


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:57 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi,
below you can find my colour and height maps from Worldmachine, if someone can take look at would be appreciated.
Thanks!


Cheers,
walter

p.s. also what else software(terrain editor) may i use to create height and color map suitable for OSG?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sebastian Messerschmidt
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:35 am    Post subject:
osgdem with terrain from worldMachine
Reply with quote

Hi Walter,

The heightmap has the wrong file-extensions.
It is indeed a tif-file. Can you try it with the renamed file?

Quote:
Hi,
below you can find my colour and height maps from Worldmachine, if someone can take look at would be appreciated.
Thanks!


Cheers,
walter

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=52040#52040




Attachments:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org//files/maps_823.zip






------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Sebastian Messerschmidt
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:31 am    Post subject:
osgdem with terrain from worldMachine
Reply with quote

Walter,

I've just took a closer look to the files you provided. They are not
referenced in any way plus the height seems totally out of scale.
I guess you'll have to reference them yourself
Quote:
Hi,
below you can find my colour and height maps from Worldmachine, if someone can take look at would be appreciated.
Thanks!


Cheers,
walter

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=52040#52040




Attachments:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org//files/maps_823.zip






------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
kalwalt
Newbie


Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:11 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi Sebastian,
Thanks for your attention and time !
Quote:
The heightmap has the wrong file-extensions.
It is indeed a tif-file. Can you try it with the renamed file?


could be that the height is one of the file already translated with gdal_translate so i think it'sbetter that i re-do all the maps.

Quote:

I've just took a closer look to the files you provided. They are not
referenced in any way plus the height seems totally out of scale.
I guess you'll have to reference them yourself


maybe WM manage the height in a different way.
to reference the maps: this is the way?
Quote:
osgdem --xx 10 --yy 10 -t ps_texture_16k.tif \
--xx 10 --yy 10 -d ps_height_16k.tif \
-l 8 -v 0.1 -o puget.ive -a pegout.osga


...


Thank you!

Cheers,
walter

p.s. no the example posted does not assign reference...sorry.
i use this page as reference http://www.openscenegraph.org/projects/osg/wiki/Support/UserGuides/osgdem
i think at the end of the page there is the right example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Similar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts How to set the transparency for one o... adrianj General 0 Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:19 am View latest post
No new posts How to get height above terrain in la... smp General 2 Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:25 pm View latest post
No new posts Terrain Deformation as per Road Profile umesh VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] 0 Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:44 pm View latest post
No new posts Camera collision with terrain ht11 General [3rdparty] 0 Fri Oct 13, 2017 7:34 am View latest post
No new posts Continuous Terrain moet General 14 Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:51 pm View latest post


Board Security Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP