OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

Sharing Vertex Arrays between Geometry Nodes

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Aitor Arrieta

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:39 pm    Post subject:

Hi all,

I am developing an application in which I have to share the same vertex array between different nodes in order to apply a different texture to each of them. I know that this is possible to do because I have read it. However, I am a beginner in the osg world and I am not able to find the way to do it.

Someone told me that I could use the same geode having different geometries but how can I specify a vertex array for a geode? As far as I know this is impossible, is not it?
I have also read something about using the DrawElementsUShort primitive but how should I use it?

My question is: is there any example of sharing vertex arrays between geometry nodes anywhere? Or has anybody done this before? In short, could anybody please help me with this task?

Thank you very much in advance.

Regards,

Aitor

------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Paul Martz

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:59 pm    Post subject:

osg::Geometry* geom0 = new osg::Geometry;
osg::Geometry* geom1 = new osg::Geometry;
osg::Vec3Array* verts = osg::Vec3Array;
geom0->setVertexArray( verts );
geom1->setVertexArray( verts );

Hope that helps.
-Paul

Quote:
Sent: Tuesday, October 14, 2008 8:39 AM
To:
Subject: Sharing Vertex Arrays between Geometry Nodes

Hi all,