OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.
 
   FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

Artifacts on terrain generation with a custom loader


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JohnD
Newbie


Joined: 12 Jun 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:44 pm    Post subject:
Artifacts on terrain generation with a custom loader
Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm building a gdal loader for a custom file type that is very similar to wgs84 geotiff to use with vpb. Once it goes through vpb, though, it seems to work only when reprojections are done and vpb uses the temporary reprojected tif, along with a nasa blue marble image. I have tried matching the custom file loader as close to the geotiff as possible but I am slightly hindered because I cannot run gdal through the debugger.

I'm attaching a screen, has anyone see this before?

Thanks in advance

Cheers,
John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trajce Nikolov NICK
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 3:39 pm    Post subject:
Artifacts on terrain generation with a custom loader
Reply with quote

To me it seams that you have NO_DATA at some posts

Nick



On Fri, Jun 13, 2014 at 4:44 PM, John Kaneko < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:
Hi,

I'm building a gdal loader for a custom file type that is very similar to wgs84 geotiff to use with vpb. Once it goes through vpb, though, it seems to work only when reprojections are done and vpb uses the temporary reprojected tif, along with a nasa blue marble image. I have tried matching the custom file loader as close to the geotiff as possible but I am slightly hindered because I cannot run gdal through the debugger.

I'm attaching a screen, has anyone see this before?

Thanks in advance

Cheers,
John

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=59731#59731




Attachments:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org//files/terrain_gen_screen_782.png


_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org




--
trajce nikolov nick

------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
JohnD
Newbie


Joined: 12 Jun 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 4:56 pm    Post subject:
Re: Artifacts on terrain generation with a custom loader
Reply with quote

Trajce Nikolov NICK wrote:
To me it seams that you have NO_DATA at some posts

Nick



Thank you for replying, Nick

I thought that too. I set the gdal no-data value to 0 then I changed my example to only supply 1 elevation input and set all heights written to 0.

The result was the bottom left corner having the bad value, with the rest of the raster data coverage area having a 0 height.

So then I double checked the iteration of the data and it looks right although I'm not ruling out that somehow the read is overrun or off by 1 somewhere else, possibly a data size mismatch? -- I'm using floats.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trajce Nikolov NICK
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:15 pm    Post subject:
Artifacts on terrain generation with a custom loader
Reply with quote

Did you check your data with some other tool, like Global Mapper?

Nick



On Fri, Jun 13, 2014 at 6:57 PM, John Kaneko < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:

Trajce Nikolov NICK wrote:
Quote:
To me it seams that you have NO_DATA at some posts

Nick





Thank you for replying, Nick

I thought that too. I set the gdal no-data value to 0 then I changed my example to only supply 1 elevation input and set all heights written to 0.

The result was the bottom left corner having the bad value, with the rest of the raster data coverage area having a 0 height.

So then I double checked the iteration of the data and it looks right although I'm not ruling out that somehow the read is overrun or off by 1 somewhere else, possibly a data size mismatch? -- I'm using floats.

------------------
Read this topic online here:

http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=59734#59734





_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org






--
trajce nikolov nick

------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
JohnD
Newbie


Joined: 12 Jun 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 7:08 pm    Post subject:
Re: Artifacts on terrain generation with a custom loader
Reply with quote

Trajce Nikolov NICK wrote:
Did you check your data with some other tool, like Global Mapper?

Nick



I have modified my example to set all 0's for the height maps, so I'm disregarding the data anyway. I think the problem lies not in the data but with something in the custom gdal loader but I can't tell what is going on there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Similar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts PHYSFS / VFS - How to make a custom o... Steal General 4 Mon Jul 10, 2017 1:28 pm View latest post
No new posts PHYSFS / VFS - How to make a custom o... Steal General 0 Mon Jul 10, 2017 1:18 pm View latest post
No new posts How to reduce the size of the terrain qiaokun VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] 0 Fri May 19, 2017 7:49 am View latest post
No new posts FBX loader convert units options robertosfield Submission 1 Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:20 pm View latest post
No new posts How to query height of terrain given ... vinothrajendran4 VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] 0 Tue Mar 14, 2017 2:43 pm View latest post


Board Security Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP