OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.
 
   FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

solved x64 vs x86


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> Build system [build]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dsargrad
User


Joined: 11 Apr 2015
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:28 pm    Post subject:
solved x64 vs x86
Reply with quote

Hi,
I've been using OSG for a while now. I've never revisited the problem I had getting cmake to recognize that I have a 64 bit windows platform. So I've always been building/compiling using the x86 3rd party dependencies.

I've tried the obvious things like configuring the following cmake options to the x64 variants:
CMAKE_EXE_LINKER_FLAGS
CMAKE_MODULE_LINKER_FLAGS
CMAKE_SHARED_LINKER_FLAGS

By default these options are set to /Machine:X86.

Yet of course when I configure the project I see the following:

Quote:
32 bit architecture detected


The full CMAKE configuration that I am using may be seen here.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BzUf-8Ad-iIkVFZVd01BZFNkcUk

I'm using Visual Studio 2013 in a standard configuration. I'd think that its easy to get OSG to build for 64 bit. I'm clearly missing something very simple.

Can someone please point me to information that might help.


Thank you!

Cheers,
Dave


Last edited by dsargrad on Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SMesserschmidt (Sebastian Messerschmidt)
Forum Moderator


Joined: 10 Sep 2013
Posts: 796

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:34 pm    Post subject:
x64 vs x86
Reply with quote

Hi Dave,

Usually you simply have to choose the correct compiler (If you use the
CMakeGUI you need to check the "Visual Studio 12 2013 Win64").
Also you'll need to use the correct 64bit-3rd-party libraries.
That should be all, the rest is taken care of by CMake.

Cheers
Sebastian
Quote:
Hi,
I've been using OSG for a while now. I've never revisited the problem I had getting cmake to recognize that I have a 64 bit windows platform. So I've always been building/compiling using the x86 3rd party dependencies.

I've tried the obvious things like configuring the following cmake options to the x64 variants:
CMAKE_EXE_LINKER_FLAGS
CMAKE_MODULE_LINKER_FLAGS
CMAKE_SHARED_LINKER_FLAGS

By default these options are set to /Machine:X86.

Yet of course when I configure the project I see the following:


Quote:
32 bit architecture detected

The full CMAKE configuration that I am using may be seen here.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BzUf-8Ad-iIkVFZVd01BZFNkcUk

I'm using Visual Studio 2013 in a standard configuration. I'd think that its easy to get OSG to build for 64 bit. I'm clearly missing something very simple.

Can someone please point me to information that might help.


Thank you!

Cheers,
Dave


------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=67416#67416






[/quote]


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dsargrad
User


Joined: 11 Apr 2015
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:11 pm    Post subject:
Solved Re: x64 vs x86
Reply with quote

Thank You Sebastian.

I do use the CMake GUI. Which parameter do I need to modify in order to point to the correct compiler? Its not clear looking at the CMake parameters which one to modify. The only parameter that seems to reference Visual Studio happens to be CMAKE_LINKER. I dont see a CMAKE_COMPILER parameter.


SMesserschmidt wrote:
Hi Dave,

Usually you simply have to choose the correct compiler (If you use the
CMakeGUI you need to check the "Visual Studio 12 2013 Win64").



I found the answer, it is necessary to recreate the build tree.

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> Build system [build] All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Similar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts [Solved] Bug while updating geometry ... Nikkitta General 2 Thu Jan 26, 2017 9:27 am View latest post
No new posts Embed in SFML window, rendering probl... rebootl General 2 Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:27 pm View latest post
No new posts transfer data to shader with osg::tex... mingsta General 10 Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:00 pm View latest post
No new posts Error with osgDB::readRefNodeFiles[So... robertosfield General 3 Tue Oct 04, 2016 11:15 am View latest post
No new posts OSG Ellipsoid to Sphere Conversion[so... Inna General 10 Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:05 pm View latest post


Board Security Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP