OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.
 
   FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

Selecting a GPU to be used in a dual-GPU laptop


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Alberto Luaces
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:04 pm    Post subject:
Selecting a GPU to be used in a dual-GPU laptop
Reply with quote

Hi,

some client owns a laptop with a dual GPU system —the typical integrated
Intel card plus an additional Radeon 530 one into a windows10 system.

It seems that the driver selects automatically the Radeon when using
some CAD applications, but only the integrated Intel when running our
OSG program (checked from the Program Manager window).

I heard that in some analogous nVidia systems one can set manually a
given program to run with the powerful GPU in the Control Panel, but at
least, if it were possible in the AMD drivers, it is not immediately
apparent (we didn't find how).

Does anybody have experience in this kind of Radeon systems?

Thank you!

--
Alberto



------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Chris Hanson
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:09 pm    Post subject:
Selecting a GPU to be used in a dual-GPU laptop
Reply with quote

I believe I was previously told that there are some secret C symbols wherein if you create a variable of a particular name, it acts as a hint to the driver to trigger particular behavior.

I can't at the moment find the names of the symbols or what they do, but I'll look around. Maybe you can find it before I do based on that knowledge.


On Thu, Oct 18, 2018 at 5:04 PM Alberto Luaces < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:

Quote:
Hi,

some client owns a laptop with a dual GPU system —the typical integrated
Intel card plus an additional Radeon 530 one into a windows10 system.

It seems that the driver selects automatically the Radeon when using
some CAD applications, but only the integrated Intel when running our
OSG program (checked from the Program Manager window).

I heard that in some analogous nVidia systems one can set manually a
given program to run with the powerful GPU in the Control Panel, but at
least, if it were possible in the AMD drivers, it is not immediately
apparent (we didn't find how).

Does anybody have experience in this kind of Radeon systems?

Thank you!

--
Alberto

_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org



--
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson, omo sanza lettere. http://www.alphapixel.com/
Training • Consulting • Contracting
3D • Scene Graphs (Open Scene Graph/OSG) • OpenGL 2 • OpenGL 3 • OpenGL 4 • GLSL • OpenGL ES 1 • OpenGL ES 2 • OpenCL
Legal/IP • Forensics • Imaging • UAVs • GIS • GPS • osgEarth • Terrain • Telemetry • Cryptography • LIDAR • Embedded • Mobile • iPhone/iPad/iOS • Android
@alphapixel facebook.com/alphapixel (775) 623-PIXL [7495]

------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Trajce Nikolov NICK
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:12 pm    Post subject:
Selecting a GPU to be used in a dual-GPU laptop
Reply with quote

I owned laptop with same configuration and obviously the Radeon driver software kit (or how it is called) comes with an app where you select the card per app. You select your app in this Radeon app and it will run on the selected device


On Thu, Oct 18, 2018 at 9:09 PM Chris Hanson < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:

Quote:
I believe I was previously told that there are some secret C symbols wherein if you create a variable of a particular name, it acts as a hint to the driver to trigger particular behavior.

I can't at the moment find the names of the symbols or what they do, but I'll look around. Maybe you can find it before I do based on that knowledge.


On Thu, Oct 18, 2018 at 5:04 PM Alberto Luaces < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:

Quote:
Hi,

some client owns a laptop with a dual GPU system —the typical integrated
Intel card plus an additional Radeon 530 one into a windows10 system.

It seems that the driver selects automatically the Radeon when using
some CAD applications, but only the integrated Intel when running our
OSG program (checked from the Program Manager window).

I heard that in some analogous nVidia systems one can set manually a
given program to run with the powerful GPU in the Control Panel, but at
least, if it were possible in the AMD drivers, it is not immediately
apparent (we didn't find how).

Does anybody have experience in this kind of Radeon systems?

Thank you!

--
Alberto

_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org



--
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson, omo sanza lettere. http://www.alphapixel.com/
Training • Consulting • Contracting
3D • Scene Graphs (Open Scene Graph/OSG) • OpenGL 2 • OpenGL 3 • OpenGL 4 • GLSL • OpenGL ES 1 • OpenGL ES 2 • OpenCL
Legal/IP • Forensics • Imaging • UAVs • GIS • GPS • osgEarth • Terrain • Telemetry • Cryptography • LIDAR • Embedded • Mobile • iPhone/iPad/iOS • Android
@alphapixel facebook.com/alphapixel (775) 623-PIXL [7495]






_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org


--
trajce nikolov nick

------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Alberto Luaces
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:18 am    Post subject:
Selecting a GPU to be used in a dual-GPU laptop
Reply with quote

Chris Hanson writes:

Quote:
I believe I was previously told that there are some secret C symbols wherein if you create a variable of a particular name, it acts as a hint to the driver to trigger particular behavior.

I can't at the moment find the names of the symbols or what they do, but I'll look around. Maybe you can find it before I do based on that knowledge.

That solution would be indeed nice to know, but I also had not luck
finding it.

Nevertheless, apparently our client got it to work tinkering with the
driver settings, so I will resume this search at a later date.

Thank you for the insight!

--
Alberto



------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Alberto Luaces
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:22 am    Post subject:
Selecting a GPU to be used in a dual-GPU laptop
Reply with quote

Trajce Nikolov NICK writes:

Quote:
I owned laptop with same configuration and obviously the Radeon driver
software kit (or how it is called) comes with an app where you select
the card per app. You select your app in this Radeon app and it will
run on the selected device

That is what I tried, but it was not obvious to me. Apparently our
client got it to work, nevertheless, so I will ask them how they did it
for reference.

--
Alberto



------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Florent
Newbie


Joined: 19 May 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:28 am    Post subject:
Selecting a GPU to be used in a dual-GPU laptop
Reply with quote

Hi Alberto,

for NVidia and AMD graphics cards, we declare 2 public variables at
global scope to force using GPU at run-time (even if there is no
existing application profile).


extern "C" {

    /// Declare this variable in public to enable the NVidia side of
Optimus -
http://developer.download.nvidia.com/devzone/devcenter/gamegraphics/files/OptimusRenderingPolicies.pdf
    __declspec(dllexport) int NvOptimusEnablement = 1;

    /// Declare this variable in public to enable the AMD side of AMD
Switchable Graphics (13.35 driver or newer needed) -
http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/169965
    __declspec(dllexport) int AmdPowerXpressRequestHighPerformance = 1;

}

Regards,

Florent

Le 18/10/2018 à 18:03, Alberto Luaces a écrit :
Quote:
Hi,

some client owns a laptop with a dual GPU system —the typical integrated
Intel card plus an additional Radeon 530 one into a windows10 system.

It seems that the driver selects automatically the Radeon when using
some CAD applications, but only the integrated Intel when running our
OSG program (checked from the Program Manager window).

I heard that in some analogous nVidia systems one can set manually a
given program to run with the powerful GPU in the Control Panel, but at
least, if it were possible in the AMD drivers, it is not immediately
apparent (we didn't find how).

Does anybody have experience in this kind of Radeon systems?

Thank you!


--
*Florent Coudret*
CSTB / DTI / MIC


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alberto Luaces
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 10:24 am    Post subject:
Selecting a GPU to be used in a dual-GPU laptop
Reply with quote

Great! Thanks a lot, Florent!

COUDRET Florent writes:

Quote:
Hi Alberto,

for NVidia and AMD graphics cards, we declare 2 public variables at
global scope to force using GPU at run-time (even if there is no
existing application profile).


extern "C" {

    /// Declare this variable in public to enable the NVidia side of
Optimus -
http://developer.download.nvidia.com/devzone/devcenter/gamegraphics/files/OptimusRenderingPolicies.pdf
    __declspec(dllexport) int NvOptimusEnablement = 1;

    /// Declare this variable in public to enable the AMD side of AMD
Switchable Graphics (13.35 driver or newer needed) -
http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/169965
    __declspec(dllexport) int AmdPowerXpressRequestHighPerformance = 1;

}

Regards,

Florent

--
Alberto



------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Chris Hanson
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:02 pm    Post subject:
Selecting a GPU to be used in a dual-GPU laptop
Reply with quote

That's the bit of code I was looking for. Thanks Florent!

On Fri, Oct 19, 2018 at 12:24 PM Alberto Luaces < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:

Quote:
Great!  Thanks a lot, Florent!

COUDRET Florent writes:

Quote:
Hi Alberto,

for NVidia and AMD graphics cards, we declare 2 public variables at
global scope to force using GPU at run-time (even if there is no
existing application profile).


extern "C" {

      /// Declare this variable in public to enable the NVidia side of
Optimus -
http://developer.download.nvidia.com/devzone/devcenter/gamegraphics/files/OptimusRenderingPolicies.pdf
      __declspec(dllexport) int NvOptimusEnablement = 1;

      /// Declare this variable in public to enable the AMD side of AMD
Switchable Graphics (13.35 driver or newer needed) -
http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/169965
      __declspec(dllexport) int AmdPowerXpressRequestHighPerformance = 1;

}

Regards,

Florent

--
Alberto

_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org



--
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson, omo sanza lettere. http://www.alphapixel.com/
Training • Consulting • Contracting
3D • Scene Graphs (Open Scene Graph/OSG) • OpenGL 2 • OpenGL 3 • OpenGL 4 • GLSL • OpenGL ES 1 • OpenGL ES 2 • OpenCL
Legal/IP • Forensics • Imaging • UAVs • GIS • GPS • osgEarth • Terrain • Telemetry • Cryptography • LIDAR • Embedded • Mobile • iPhone/iPad/iOS • Android
@alphapixel facebook.com/alphapixel (775) 623-PIXL [7495]

------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Similar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts Selecting visible primitives within a... charlietan789 General 0 Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:40 am View latest post
No new posts osgViewer::Viewer fullscreen dual mon... akaisora General 4 Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:32 pm View latest post
No new posts Advise on SLI dual quad buffered ster... Tedzini General 3 Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:00 am View latest post
No new posts Seeking feedback on options new lapto... robertosfield General 2 Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:44 pm View latest post
No new posts Selecting techniques for an osgEffect... fberthaut General 2 Mon Sep 28, 2015 5:41 pm View latest post


Board Security Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP