OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

Adding Constraints to Draggers

View previous topic :: View next topic  
bam098

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 12:56 pm    Post subject:

Hi,

I'm quite new to OpenSceneGraph. I actually just finished to read the book "OpenSceneGraph 3.0 Beginner's Guide" and now I want to go a bit further.

Currently, I try to move objects via the mouse. I already saw, that I can use the class osgManipulator::Dragger for this. Here I wrote my own CompositeDragger, which is basically a combination of a RotateCylinderDragger and a Translate1DDrager. This means I can move the object forwards and backwards and I can rotate it via mouse. I already got this working.

However, I don't want to translate the object infinitely forwards or backwards. I just want to translate it e.g. 10 units back or 5 units forward at max. Or I want to translate it only within a certain area of the world coordinate system.

How could I do this? I assume the osgManipulator::Contraint is helpful here. However, I haven't found any examples and I don't know how to apply it.

I hope this wasn't asked before. At least I couldn't find anything similar. Are there any examples somewhere online, which you can recommend to look at?

Thank you!

Cheers,
Max
robertosfield
OSG Project Lead

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 3:31 pm    Post subject:

Hi Max,