OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.
 
   FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

Backing off elevation


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
daver
Newbie


Joined: 11 Feb 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:26 pm    Post subject:
Backing off elevation
Reply with quote

I am using VPB with 60cm imagery source and DTED2 elevation source. Is there a way (via levels or layers or other) that I can tell it to build all the way up to the 60cm imagery resolution BUT have it back off the resolution of my elevation source so that it would cut down on the polygon count. I don't really need it to be that full of resolution polygonally. But customer does want to see full imagery res.

I am asking specifically for method internal to VPB commands, not external (i.e GlobalMapper).

Perhaps an example would help.

Thank you!

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amigoface
User


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 88
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 3:47 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

if i understand correctely :

why not build your terrain with lower dted files resultion DTED1 or srtm (30m/90m) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zonk
Appreciator


Joined: 23 May 2009
Posts: 621

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:11 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi,

or preprocess you data with globalmapper to lower resolution.


Thank you!

Cheers,
Torben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daver
Newbie


Joined: 11 Feb 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:32 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

I know I could do it with GlobalMapper as a pre-process. But you are missing the point.
What I am looking for is that level of control in VPB just like I have with imagery, but for elevation.

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Similar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts How to change terrain elevation manua... vinothrajendran4 VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] 1 Wed Jan 04, 2017 5:00 am View latest post
No new posts Generate geometry from a digital elev... cbuchner1 General 6 Thu May 21, 2015 7:25 am View latest post
No new posts put multiple image file on one elevat... sutiany General 3 Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:24 pm View latest post
No new posts put multiple image file on one elevat... sutiany General 0 Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:31 am View latest post
No new posts Backing up osg State Philipp Moeller General 3 Wed Jan 25, 2012 3:32 pm View latest post


Board Security Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP