OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.
 
   FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

increase ocean view range

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> osgOcean [osgOcean]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
amigoface
User


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 88
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:31 am    Post subject:
increase ocean view range
Reply with quote

Hi,

what is the best way to increase the view range in osgocean scene ?

i added the ocean scene to my flight-sim app removed the fog but the distance view still too short especially from altitude


- another question is it possible to use the endless option of the ocean but only starting from some points for example the ocean scene that begin from the sea side ?

Thanks and good day

Cheers,
issam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
amigoface
User


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 88
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 12:13 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

no one on this ?

ok another question

how to integrate osgocean into a pagedlod terrain database built with vpb ?


i tried lot of things without success
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Trajce (Nick) Nikolov
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 12:52 pm    Post subject:
increase ocean view range
Reply with quote

Hello,

I havent tried with a database built with vpb, but I did it with database built with TerraVista. The key was to cut out the ocean (make a hole) to be later replaced by osgOcean.


-Nick


On Sun, Aug 29, 2010 at 4:13 PM, issam boughanmi < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:
no one on this ?

ok another question

how to integrate osgocean into a pagedlod terrain database built with vpb ?


i tried lot of things without success

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=31127#31127





_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
amigoface
User


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 88
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 1:39 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

nice screens !

can you show me your graph structure

i tried every combination : ocean as a child, as a parent of the terrain parent, in the same level ....

Quote:

Hello,

I havent tried with a database built with vpb, but I did it with database built with TerraVista. The key was to cut out the ocean (make a hole) to be later replaced by osgOcean.


do you mean make a hole in the terrain ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Trajce (Nick) Nikolov
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 1:51 pm    Post subject:
increase ocean view range
Reply with quote

with osgocean there is an example coming which shows you how to add your own terrain. in the sample, the file loaded is called island.ive. Mimic the code and put there your database. That is what I did .... -Nick


On Sun, Aug 29, 2010 at 5:39 PM, issam boughanmi < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:
nice screens !

can you show me your graph structure

i tried every combination : ocean as a child, as a parent of the terrain parent, in the same level ....


Quote:

Hello,

I havent tried with a database built with vpb, but I did it with database built with TerraVista. The key was to cut out the ocean (make a hole) to be later replaced by osgOcean.




do you mean make a hole in the terrain ?

------------------
Read this topic online here:

http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=31129#31129






_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org




------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Trajce (Nick) Nikolov
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 1:52 pm    Post subject:
increase ocean view range
Reply with quote

Quote:
do you mean make a hole in the terrain ?yes


-Nick


On Sun, Aug 29, 2010 at 5:39 PM, issam boughanmi < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:
nice screens !

can you show me your graph structure

i tried every combination : ocean as a child, as a parent of the terrain parent, in the same level ....


Quote:

Hello,

I havent tried with a database built with vpb, but I did it with database built with TerraVista. The key was to cut out the ocean (make a hole) to be later replaced by osgOcean.




do you mean make a hole in the terrain ?

------------------
Read this topic online here:

http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=31129#31129






_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org




------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
amigoface
User


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 88
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:24 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

hi

back to the original question

here two screens that describe the problem i am facing





especially in the second screen the effect is more visible

i have just a small square area of sea even with the enableEndless option and when the main player is in hight altitude the sea disappears




any help or orientation is welcome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Trajce (Nick) Nikolov
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:23 pm    Post subject:
increase ocean view range
Reply with quote

I think the endless option will not produce real endless ocean you can see it from any range. I think it is rather following your eyepoint and render enough so you can see it all the time. Just my thoughts, might be good to check it actually  -Nick


On Mon, Aug 30, 2010 at 1:24 PM, issam boughanmi < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:
hi

back to the original question

here two screens that describe the problem i am facing

[Image: http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/183/fsim1.th.jpg ] (http://img90.imageshack.us/i/fsim1.jpg/)

[Image: http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/439/fsim2.th.jpg ] (http://img521.imageshack.us/i/fsim2.jpg/)

especially in the second screen the effect is more visible

i have just a small square area of sea even with the enableEndless option and when the main player is in hight altitude the sea disappears




any help or orientation is welcome

------------------
Read this topic online here:

http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=31146#31146






_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org




------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
amigoface
User


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 88
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:44 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

yes from i have read the endless option adapt only the point of view to simulate endless effect

that's said : how to get endless effect with osgocean especially in high altitude


thanks and good day
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Trajce (Nick) Nikolov
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:59 pm    Post subject:
increase ocean view range
Reply with quote

I guess you would need to put some LOD on the ocean culture. -Nick


On Mon, Aug 30, 2010 at 6:44 PM, issam boughanmi < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:
yes from i have read the endless option adapt only the point of view to simulate endless effect

that's said : how to get endless effect with osgocean especially in high altitude


thanks and good day

------------------
Read this topic online here:

http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=31159#31159






_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org




------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
amigoface
User


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 88
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 8:54 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

can you explain more in details this please ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Trajce (Nick) Nikolov
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:24 am    Post subject:
increase ocean view range
Reply with quote

LOD - Level Of Detail. Obviously when you build a terrain database, you build it in few different level of details. What is close is more detailed what is further is less detailed. All of the terrain generation tools are aware of this and they build the final scene graph using LODs. They often build it as quad tree structure.

So what you would need is, different representation of the ocean that will change based on the range. And that is done with LOD node. So your ocean can be polygonal for far range, and a hole for closer range (the hole will become your osgocean)


The terrain tools like TerraVista, can do this easy. When you build your database, you would have vector culture (ESRI shape. etc) for your ocean. And you specify how this culture will be represented in your final terrain database. So you make it polygonal for lower LODs and a hole for the highest LOD. Then you set the range of your osgocean to be the same as your highest LOD range


That is how I build the bosphores database with TerraVista.


I am not very familiar with vpb (well, I used it couple of times to generate the whole earth with the blue marble dataset). You would need to see if vpb can work with vector culture. Or go with some commercial tolls, TerraVista, TerraSim ... etc. There are some contractors as well you can outsource the terrain generation to them.


Maybe you explain what is your final database (also, what kind of sources you have) and we see if we can give better guidance. I expect some of the rest from the community might have faced and resolved this issue differently then me.


-Nick


On Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 12:54 PM, issam boughanmi < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:
can you explain more in details this please ?

------------------
Read this topic online here:

http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=31188#31188






_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org




------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
amigoface
User


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 88
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:15 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi nick and thanks for your support Wink

i can investigate for your suggestion about lod node , shape files integration ... etc

but for now i have a simple question :
can i simply increase the ocean grid size surface ? if yes how ?



my terrain is built like i said with vpb using srtm elevation file and landsat geotiff images + some high res geotiff files of some regions

i am using this in a flight sim app

the terrain database work perfectelly and now i want to integrate osgocean for the sea side region of my map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Trajce (Nick) Nikolov
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:32 am    Post subject:
increase ocean view range
Reply with quote

yes. look in the setup code for the oceansurface (I think. Dont have the code with me at the moment, but as far I can recall you can do that). -Nick


On Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 2:15 PM, issam boughanmi < (
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)> wrote:
Quote:
Hi nick and thanks for your support Wink

i can investigate for your suggestion about lod node , shape files integration ... etc

but for now i have a simple question :
can i simply increase the ocean grid size surface ? if yes how ?



my terrain is built like i said with vpb using srtm elevation file and landsat geotiff images + some high res geotiff files of some regions

i am using this in a flight sim app

the terrain database work perfectelly and now i want to integrate osgocean for the sea side region of my map

------------------
Read this topic online here:

http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=31194#31194






_______________________________________________
osg-users mailing list
(
Only registered users can see emails on this board!
Get registred or enter the forums!
)
http://lists.openscenegraph.org/listinfo.cgi/osg-users-openscenegraph.org




------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
amigoface
User


Joined: 01 Apr 2010
Posts: 88
Location: Algeria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:13 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

yes from the osgapp example

Code:
_oceanSurface = new osgOcean::FFTOceanSurface( 64, 256, 17,
windDirection, windSpeed, depth, reflectionDamping, waveScale, isChoppy, choppyFactor, 10.f, 256 ); 



i tried before to increase some of these value but i got a very strange and horrible effect since i don't know each parameter value correspondence

for example i tried this before

Code:
_oceanSurface = new osgOcean::FFTOceanSurface( 128, 512, 33,
windDirection, windSpeed, depth, reflectionDamping, waveScale, isChoppy, choppyFactor, 10.f, 256 ); 



i can't put screens now beacause i don't have my dev machine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> osgOcean [osgOcean] All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Similar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts How to change "field of view&quo... arfaa General 0 Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:37 pm View latest post
No new posts Problems with view .FBX files arfaa General 0 Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:48 pm View latest post
No new posts osgOcean and Stereo view. Paradox osgOcean [osgOcean] 0 Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:29 am View latest post
No new posts Limitation of Displaying buildings,ro... Rambabu General 1 Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:47 am View latest post
No new posts Is it possible to temporarily redirec... wernerM General 3 Thu Mar 09, 2017 2:13 pm View latest post


Board Security Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP