OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.

FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

osgPPU and the stencil buffer

Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> osgPPU [osgPPU]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
radexx

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 10:39 am    Post subject:

Hi,

I'm pretty new to osgPPU and I'm working on a port of Jimenez's MLAA full scene antialiasing algorithm.

It's a 3-pass post processing effect:

- The first step detects the edges of the RTT'd scene and makes an 'edge texture'.
- The second step uses the previous texture and a precomputed one to calculate the area which pixels belonging to an edge would cover from an ideal trapeze.
- The final step blends each pixel in its 4-neighborhood according to the weights calculated in the previous step.

I got it fully working in osgPPU, however, an important optimization can be done by using the stencil buffer. The idea behind this is:

- Initially the stencil is cleared out to 0

- The first step of the post effect (edges detection) creates a stencil mask writing 1's to the stencil wherever there's an edge pixel. The pixels not belonging to an edge are discarded in the shader, so no writting to the stencil will occur in that case.

- In the subsequent steps (weights calculation and final blend) the stencil test discards every pixel not covered by the mask, hence only the edge pixels are processed.

And this is how I tried to achieve it: