OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.
 
   FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

what is the difference between pacthing and making two terrain models?


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lq37
User


Joined: 04 Oct 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:30 pm    Post subject:
what is the difference between pacthing and making two terrain models?
Reply with quote

Hi,

...

I know the new vpbmaster offer patching a new data to a existing VirtualPlanetBuilder database.

In my app.I made a low resolution earth model,and a high resolution area terrain model,then just load both of them,it ljust looks like place a high resolution area above the low resolution earth.It looks OK but not perfect.

So my question is what is the difference between pacthing and making two terrain models?Thx!







Thank you!

Cheers,
Lv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zonk
Appreciator


Joined: 23 May 2009
Posts: 621

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:24 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi,

loading two databases does not patch the database on runtime but only loads two independdet dataset with resulting z fighiting and osther issues.

patching a database really replaces the low res data with the highresdata so you avoid these issues.


Cheers,
Torben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertosfield
OSG Project Lead


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 12144

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:50 pm    Post subject:
what is the difference between pacthing and making two terrain models?
Reply with quote

Hi Lv,

The patching support build into VPB is able to modify an already build
database, replacing tiles affected by the newly added imagery/DEMs.

The patching support does not enable you to mix two independent
databases at runtime.

Robert.

On Wed, Jul 20, 2011 at 3:30 PM, Lv Qing <> wrote:
Quote:
Hi,

...

I know the new vpbmaster offer patching a new data to a existing VirtualPlanetBuilder database.

In my app.I made a low resolution earth model,and a high resolution area terrain model,then just load both of them,it ljust looks like palace a high resolution area above the low resolution  earth.It looks OK but not perfect.

So my question is what is the  difference between pacthing  and making two terrain models?Thx!







Thank you!

Cheers,
Lv

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=41512#41512









------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lq37
User


Joined: 04 Oct 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:56 am    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi,

... I will try it,another question,if two independent model is 2G each,pachting one to another make a 4G model,is right?


Thank you!

Cheers,
Lv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertosfield
OSG Project Lead


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 12144

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:37 am    Post subject:
what is the difference between pacthing and making two terrain models?
Reply with quote

Hi Lv,

On Thu, Jul 21, 2011 at 2:56 AM, Lv Qing <> wrote:
Quote:
... I will try it,another question,if two independent model is 2G each,pachting one to another make a 4G model,is right?

If the two databases don't overlap then the size would be 4G.

If you patch one database with high res imagery/DEM inserts then total
won't be 4G but slightly less.

Robert.


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lq37
User


Joined: 04 Oct 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 12:06 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Hi,

... I made a low resolution world.ive like this:

vpbmaster --geocentric -t world-t.tif -d world-d.tif -l 8 -o world/world-8.ive

then I wan to pitch a high resolution level of dem and image like this:

vpbmaster --patch world/world-8.ive --levels 1 8 -d USA-d.tif -t USA-t.tif;


It did take a long time of processing,but seems nothing change with the world-8.ive ,and the size of world-8.ive is still the same.


do not know what's wrong,may be somthing about --levels ?need help!



Thank you!

Cheers,
Lv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertosfield
OSG Project Lead


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 12144

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:03 pm    Post subject:
what is the difference between pacthing and making two terrain models?
Reply with quote

Hi Lv,

You need to provide the master source file that the vpbmaster will
have created during the first run in the second run, otherwise
vpbmaster won't know what to patch.

Robert.

On Tue, Aug 23, 2011 at 1:06 PM, Lv Qing <> wrote:
Quote:
Hi,

... I made a low resolution world.ive like this:

vpbmaster --geocentric -t world-t.tif -d world-d.tif -l 8 -o world/world-8.ive

then I wan to pitch a high resolution level of dem and image like this:

vpbmaster --patch world/world-8.ive --levels 1 8 -d USA-d.tif  -t USA-t.tif;


It did take a long time of processing,but seems nothing change with the world-8.ive ,and the size of world-8.ive is still the same.


do not know what's wrong,may be somthing about --levels ?need help!



Thank you!

Cheers,
Lv

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=42191#42191









------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lq37
User


Joined: 04 Oct 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:18 pm    Post subject:
Re: what is the difference between pacthing and making two terrain models?
Reply with quote

robertosfield wrote:
Hi Lv,

You need to provide the master source file that the vpbmaster will
have created during the first run in the second run, otherwise
vpbmaster won't know what to patch.

Robert.

On Tue, Aug 23, 2011 at 1:06 PM, Lv Qing <> wrote:
Quote:
Hi,

... I made a low resolution world.ive like this:

vpbmaster --geocentric -t world-t.tif -d world-d.tif -l 8 -o world/world-8.ive

then I wan to pitch a high resolution level of dem and image like this:

vpbmaster --patch world/world-8.ive --levels 1 8 -d USA-d.tif  -t USA-t.tif;


It did take a long time of processing,but seems nothing change with the world-8.ive ,and the size of world-8.ive is still the same.


do not know what's wrong,may be somthing about --levels ?need help!



Thank you!

Cheers,
Lv

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=42191#42191









------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum



sorry, robert ,i found the problem is not --patcing but my newly compiled vbp 0.9.12 .It seems failed add my dem data to the model

I used VPB 0.9.10 and osg2.8 before ,

osgdem -t t.tif -d h.tif --geocentric -l 2 -o test.ive

this Command always woked well before.

I have newly compiled vbp 0.9.12 with osg2.9.16,using the same Command or

vpbmaster -t t.tif -d h.tif --geocentric -l 2 -o test.ive

It failed adding the dem data h.tif to the model.

Do know why,I use the same data,I didn't remenber any failure when compiling vpb0.9.12.need help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertosfield
OSG Project Lead


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 12144

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 1:27 pm    Post subject:
what is the difference between pacthing and making two terrain models?
Reply with quote

Hi Lv,

The --patch option takes the VPB source file that was used to generate
the database, not the database that was generated. When you run
vpbmaster it'll take all your options and then place them in a source
description file (named build_master.source) that is then passed on to
each of the slaves. You can explictly output a source file by using
the --so mysource.source command line option on vpbmaster. You can
then using this source file as into to a vpbmaster run in place of
your original options. You should be able to use your
build_master.source as well, but personally I perfer to generate a
source file prior to doing my actual vpbmaster build runs as this way
you can recreate the same build easily.

Robert.


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Similar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts Exporting OpenFlight Models Daniel Emminizer, Code... General 2 Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:02 pm View latest post
No new posts Looking for FBX models to test out ou... robertosfield General 6 Fri Mar 09, 2018 4:24 pm View latest post
No new posts How to set the transparency for one o... adrianj General 0 Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:19 am View latest post
No new posts How to get height above terrain in la... smp General 2 Thu Dec 28, 2017 12:25 pm View latest post
No new posts Terrain Deformation as per Road Profile umesh VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] 0 Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:44 pm View latest post


Board Security Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP