OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index OpenSceneGraph Forum
Official forum which mirrors the existent OSG mailing lists. Messages posted here are forwarded to the mailing list and vice versa.
 
   FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    RulesRules    UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister 
 Mail2Forum SettingsMail2Forum Settings  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
   AlbumAlbum  OpenSceneGraph IRC ChatOpenSceneGraph IRC Chat   SmartFeedSmartFeed 

Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb]
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lq37
User


Joined: 04 Oct 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:34 pm    Post subject:
Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?
Reply with quote

Hi,

just look forward it
...


Thank you!

Cheers,
Lv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robertosfield
OSG Project Lead


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 12095

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:52 pm    Post subject:
Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?
Reply with quote

Hi Lv,

On Wed, Jul 20, 2011 at 3:34 PM, Lv Qing <> wrote:
Quote:
just look forward it

I didn't get a chance to tag VPB-1.0.0 before I left for my holiday,
so will need to do it this or next month. What VPB version is in
svn/trunk is essentially what VPB-1.0.0 will be, so using this along
with OSG-3.0.0 will give the same results as wheat you'll get with the
final VPB-1.0.0.

Robert.


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creature (Ethan Fahy)
Appreciator


Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:43 pm    Post subject:
Any successful builds of VPB1.0.0?
Reply with quote

Hi,

I grabbed the svn root of VPB yesterday and have been trying to build it from source using CMake and Visual Studio 2010. I am using precompiled OpenSceneGraph 3.0.0 binaries and dependencies (which include gdal)
I was able to configure and generate a Visual Studio 2010 project using CMake and the latest VPB src without any errors or warnings, but when I try to build the project in Visual Studio 2010, I get the following error:
Error 1 error LNK2005: "public: void __thiscall std::basic_ofstream<char,struct std::char_traits<char> >::`vbase destructor'(void)" (??_D?$basic_ofstream@DU?$char_traits@D@std@@@std@@QAEXXZ) already defined in SpatialProperties.obj C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\src\vpb\osgDBd.lib(osg80-osgDBd.dll) vpb

The file osgDBd.lib does not exist at the path in the error. It does appear in my OSG3.0.0 installation directory. This library is found in its correct place by CMake before generating the VS2010 project.

I am pretty new to developing for Windows and this is only my second Visual Studio/CMake project so I could be making an obvious error but I thought I'd post this just to see if anyone had successfully build the latest VPB that is in svn/root that supposedly OSG3.0.0 compatible? I'd hate to spend a ton of time spinning my wheels on this if I would be better off waiting for the official VSP1.0.0 release. Any advice or thoughts are most appreciated.


Thank you!

Cheers,
Ethan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 6:39 pm    Post subject:
Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?
Reply with quote

On 9/7/2011 11:43 AM, Ethan Fahy wrote:
Quote:
Hi,
I grabbed the svn root of VPB yesterday and have been trying to build it from source using CMake and Visual Studio 2010. I am using precompiled OpenSceneGraph 3.0.0 binaries and dependencies (which include gdal)

Which precompiled binaries are you using?

--
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson, omo sanza lettere. http://www.alphapixel.com/
Digital Imaging. OpenGL. Scene Graphs. GIS. GPS. Training. Consulting. Contracting.
"There is no Truth. There is only Perception. To Perceive is to Exist." - Xen


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
creature (Ethan Fahy)
Appreciator


Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 6:51 pm    Post subject:
Re: Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?
Reply with quote

I cant post links until my 3rd post so this is a filler post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creature (Ethan Fahy)
Appreciator


Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 6:56 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:13 pm    Post subject:
Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?
Reply with quote

On 9/7/2011 12:56 PM, Ethan Fahy wrote:
Quote:
I am using the following:
OSG debug from here:
http://openscenegraph.alphapixel.com/sites/default/files/osgdownload/3.0.0/OpenSceneGraph-3.0.0-VS10.0.30319-x86-debug-12681.7z
OSG release from here:
http://openscenegraph.alphapixel.com/sites/default/files/osgdownload/3.0.0/OpenSceneGraph-3.0.0-VS10.0.30319-x86-release-12681.7z
OSG 3ryparty from here:
http://members.iinet.net.au/~bchrist/3rdParty_VC10_x86_x64.zip

At a guess, this is your problem. You're using thirdparty libs compiled by someone else,
possibly with different settings. Why not use the thirdparty libs from the same source?

http://openscenegraph.alphapixel.com/osg/downloads/openscenegraph-third-party-library-downloads

--
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson, omo sanza lettere. http://www.alphapixel.com/
Digital Imaging. OpenGL. Scene Graphs. GIS. GPS. Training. Consulting. Contracting.
"There is no Truth. There is only Perception. To Perceive is to Exist." - Xen


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Mattias Helsing
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:49 pm    Post subject:
Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?
Reply with quote

Hello Ethan

I wonder if you have hit a problem reported earlier. see:

http://lists.openscenegraph.org/pipermail/osg-users-openscenegraph.org/2010-August/044528.html

It is reported as a bug in msvc, and I haven't tracked it for a while.
Try and set /FORCE:MULTIPLE in the linker param section for the vpd
library

A more long lasting solution is to set this in a CMakeLists.txt:
if(MSVC)
if(${MSVC_VERSION} STREQUAL 1600)
message("msvc2010 build fix /FORCE:MULTIPLE")
set(CMAKE_SHARED_LINKER_FLAGS ${CMAKE_SHARED_LINKER_FLAGS} /FORCE:MULTIPLE)
endif()
endif()

I don't have the sp1 for my msvc2010 so I don't know if it fixes this issue

cheers
Mattias

On Wed, Sep 7, 2011 at 8:56 PM, Ethan Fahy <> wrote:
Quote:
I am using the following:
OSG debug from here:
http://openscenegraph.alphapixel.com/sites/default/files/osgdownload/3.0.0/OpenSceneGraph-3.0.0-VS10.0.30319-x86-debug-12681.7z
OSG release from here:
http://openscenegraph.alphapixel.com/sites/default/files/osgdownload/3.0.0/OpenSceneGraph-3.0.0-VS10.0.30319-x86-release-12681.7z
OSG 3ryparty from here:
http://members.iinet.net.au/~bchrist/3rdParty_VC10_x86_x64.zip

I am on Windows 7 Pro 32-bit.  CMake version 2.8.5.  Visual Studio 2010 w/ all latest updates.

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=42505#42505









------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
creature (Ethan Fahy)
Appreciator


Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:40 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

First, thanks Mattias and Chris for your comments, I really appreciate them.
I tried the following based on your tips:

1. installed VS2010 SP1 -> same errors as before

2. inserted the force multiple code block into the CMake file->recreated VPB sln file->different errors on build (both debug and release) as follows:
Error 1 error LNK1181: cannot open input file ';/FORCE:MULTIPLE.obj' C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\src\vpb\LINK vpb
Error 2 error LNK1181: cannot open input file '..\..\lib\Release\vpb.lib' C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\applications\vpbsizes\LINK Applications vpbsizes
Error 3 error LNK1181: cannot open input file '..\..\lib\Release\vpb.lib' C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\applications\vpbcache\LINK Applications vpbcache
Error 4 error LNK1181: cannot open input file '..\..\lib\Release\vpb.lib' C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\applications\osgdem\LINK Applications osgdem
Error 5 error LNK1181: cannot open input file '..\..\lib\Release\vpb.lib' C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\applications\vpbmaster\LINK Applications vpbmaster

3. downloaded both release and debug 3rdparty dependencies directories from same location as I got my precompiled OSG binaries, however this 3rdparty distribution does not contain precompiled GDAL binaries, which is the only 3rdparty OSG library that VPB needs as far as I can tell. Any recommendation for a VPB-compatible precompiled GDAL?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
creature (Ethan Fahy)
Appreciator


Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:36 pm    Post subject:
update
Reply with quote

To try to isolate the problem further, I downloaded several GDAL precompiled distributions from this site:
http://trac.osgeo.org/gdal/wiki/DownloadingGdalBinaries
including:
http://www.gisinternals.com/sdk/
and
OSGeo4W
With each GDAL version, I changed the GDAL_DIR environmental variable and recreated the VPB files using CMake. The linking error is the same regardless of the GDAL dependency that I am using, so I think that the problem lies in the Visual Studio bug pointed out by Mattias. I hope that I am putting the block of CMake code that Mattias posted in the correct location in the CMake file itself. I simply inserted it alongside the only other IF(MSVC) statement that I found in the CMake file...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mattias Helsing
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 5:17 pm    Post subject:
Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?
Reply with quote

Hi Ethan,

There's a semicolon to much in here:

Quote:
Error 1 error LNK1181: cannot open input file ';/FORCE:MULTIPLE.obj' C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\src\vpb\LINK vpb
^
...don't know why but it causes the linker to think you want it linked.
Try the easy solution and just set /FORCE:MULTIPLE in visual studio.
It's in the Linker properties. I'm not near a windows computer so
can't point better. The setting will disappear next time you CMake
configure/generate.

/Mattias

On Thu, Sep 8, 2011 at 3:40 PM, Ethan Fahy <> wrote:
Quote:
First, thanks Mattias and Chris for your comments, I really appreciate them.
I tried the following based on your tips:

1.  installed VS2010 SP1 -> same errors as before

2.  inserted the force multiple code block into the CMake file->recreated VPB sln file->different errors on build (both debug and release) as follows:
Error   1       error LNK1181: cannot open input file ';/FORCE:MULTIPLE.obj'    C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\src\vpb\LINK   vpb
Error   2       error LNK1181: cannot open input file '..\..\lib\Release\vpb.lib'       C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\applications\vpbsizes\LINK     Applications vpbsizes
Error   3       error LNK1181: cannot open input file '..\..\lib\Release\vpb.lib'       C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\applications\vpbcache\LINK     Applications vpbcache
Error   4       error LNK1181: cannot open input file '..\..\lib\Release\vpb.lib'       C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\applications\osgdem\LINK       Applications osgdem
Error   5       error LNK1181: cannot open input file '..\..\lib\Release\vpb.lib'       C:\Users\efahy\AER\GEMS\Scene\VirtualPlanetBuilder\build\applications\vpbmaster\LINK    Applications vpbmaster

3.  downloaded both release and debug 3rdparty dependencies directories from same location as I got my precompiled OSG binaries, however this 3rdparty distribution does not contain precompiled GDAL binaries, which is the only 3rdparty OSG library that VPB needs as far as I can tell.  Any recommendation for a VPB-compatible precompiled GDAL?

------------------
Read this topic online here:
http://forum.openscenegraph.org/viewtopic.php?p=42536#42536









------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
creature (Ethan Fahy)
Appreciator


Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 6:15 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

In the interest of documenting this issue thoroughly, here's what I did:
In MSVC2010, I right-clicked the "vpb" project and went to:properties\Configuration Properties\Linker\Command Line
and added /FORCE:MULTIPLE in the "Additional Options" field. I did this for both the debug and release modes in MSCV. I was then able to successfully build the project. Note that I only had to add the /FORCE:MULTIPLE option to the "vpb" project and not the other projects contained in the solution file. I then tried to build the "INSTALL" project but go the following error:
Error 1 error MSB3073: The command "setlocal
"C:\Program Files\CMake 2.8\bin\cmake.exe" -DBUILD_TYPE=Release -P cmake_install.cmake
if %errorlevel% neq 0 goto :cmEnd
:cmEnd
endlocal & call :cmErrorLevel %errorlevel% & goto :cmDone
:cmErrorLevel
exit /b %1
:cmDone
if %errorlevel% neq 0 goto :VCEnd
:VCEnd" exited with code 1. C:\Program Files\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets 113 6 INSTALL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:41 pm    Post subject:
Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?
Reply with quote

On 9/8/2011 8:36 AM, Ethan Fahy wrote:
Quote:
To try to isolate the problem further, I downloaded several GDAL precompiled distributions from this site:
http://trac.osgeo.org/gdal/wiki/DownloadingGdalBinaries
including:
http://www.gisinternals.com/sdk/
and
OSGeo4W
With each GDAL version, I changed the GDAL_DIR environmental variable and recreated the VPB files using CMake. The linking error is the same regardless of the GDAL dependency that I am using, so I think that the problem lies in the Visual Studio bug pointed out by Mattias. I hope that I am putting the block of CMake code that Mattias posted in the correct location in the CMake file itself. I simply inserted it alongside the only other IF(MSVC) statement that I found in the CMake file...

I've always used the FWTools version when I build on Windows. Not that it'll probably
matter.

--
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson, omo sanza lettere. http://www.alphapixel.com/
Digital Imaging. OpenGL. Scene Graphs. GIS. GPS. Training. Consulting. Contracting.
"There is no Truth. There is only Perception. To Perceive is to Exist." - Xen


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
creature (Ethan Fahy)
Appreciator


Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:12 pm    Post subject:
Reply with quote

OK, I figured out that the last error I had mentioned was due to the fact that the default installation directory for VPB was set to C:\Program Files\VIRTUALPLANETBUILDER but you need admin privileges to write to Program Files. I rebuilt the project and set the installation directory to a different location under my personal directories and the "INSTALL" process succeeded.

However, when I try to run osgdem.exe, it asks for a series of .dll files. I went through and scrounged up a bunch of dll files from my local machine and from the web, but got stuck because one of my dll's appears to be the wrong version and is missing a function. Is it assumed that the users of VPB will gather all the necessary dll files or is there a VPB dependencies download somewhere that I missed?

PS the specific error I am getting is when i get to the libtiff.dll . I download and tried to use several versions from the internet but keep getting this error:
the procedure entry point _TIFFfree could not be located in the dynamic link library libtiff.dll
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:52 pm    Post subject:
Is the VPB 1.0.0 available?
Reply with quote

On 9/8/2011 2:12 PM, Ethan Fahy wrote:
Quote:
OK, I figured out that the last error I had mentioned was due to the fact that the default installation directory for VPB was set to C:\Program Files\VIRTUALPLANETBUILDER but you need admin privileges to write to Program Files. I rebuilt the project and set the installation directory to a different location under my personal directories and the "INSTALL" process succeeded.
However, when I try to run osgdem.exe, it asks for a series of .dll files. I went through and scrounged up a bunch of dll files from my local machine and from the web, but got stuck because one of my dll's appears to be the wrong version and is missing a function. Is it assumed that the users of VPB will gather all the necessary dll files or is there a VPB dependencies download somewhere that I missed?

What DLLs? Most of the time the only DLLs you need are OSG itself (and its thirdparty
deps) and those from VPB's own thirdparty deps.

--
Chris 'Xenon' Hanson, omo sanza lettere. http://www.alphapixel.com/
Digital Imaging. OpenGL. Scene Graphs. GIS. GPS. Training. Consulting. Contracting.
"There is no Truth. There is only Perception. To Perceive is to Exist." - Xen


------------------
Post generated by Mail2Forum
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenSceneGraph Forum Forum Index -> VirtualPlanetBuilder [vpb] All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum



Board Security Anti Bot Question MOD - phpBB MOD against Spam Bots
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP